The significance of ''PNR'' in Indian Rail Way ( IRCTC )

PNR Stand for ?
PNR (Passenger Name Record) number is an unique ten digit number, that is provided against every booked train ticket. Whether you are booking the ticket online or physically (through the railway station ticket counters), the ticket will certainly have a PNR number. A single PNR number can be provided to a maximum of six passengers, when group booking is sought.

What does 10 digit PNR Number signify?
  • 1 = PNR starting with '1' are issued from SCR Zone (issued from Secunderabad PRS)
  • 2 & 3 = PNR starting with '2' or '3' are issued from either NR, NCR, NWR, or NER Zone (issued from Delhi PRS)
  • 4 & 5 = PNR starting with '4' or '5' are issued from either SR, SWR, or SCR Zone (issued from Chennai PRS)
  • 6 & 7 = PNR starting with '6' or '7' are issued from either NFR, ECR, ER, ECoR, SER, or SECR Zone (issued from Kolkata PRS)
  • 8 & 9 = PNR starting with '8' or '9' are issued from either CR, WCR, or WR Zone (issued from Mumbai PRS)
Note that zones from which PNR are issued are as follows -
  1. NR - Northern Railway {Popular stations: Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow NR, Moradabad}
  2. NER - North Eastern Railways {Popular stations: Izzatnagar, Lucknow NER, Varanasi}
  3. NFR - Northeast Frontier Railways {Popular Stations: Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangiya, Lumding, Tinsukia}
  4. ER - Eastern Railways {Popular Stations: Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol, Malda}
  5. SER - South Eastern Railways {Popular Stations: Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi}
  6. SCR - South Central Railways {Popular stations: Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Vijayawada, Guntakal, Guntur, Nanded}
  7. SR - Southern Railways {Popular Stations: Chennai, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, Palakkad, Salem, Thiruvanthapuram}
  8. CR - Central Railways {Popular Stations: Mumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur, Nagpur}
  9. WR - Wstern Railways {Popular Stations: Mumbai WR, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Vadodara}
  10. SWR - South Western Railways {Popular Stations: Hubbali, Bengaluru, Mysuru}
  11. NWR - North Western Railways {Popular Stations: Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner, Jodhpur}
  12. WCR - West Central Railways {Popular Stations: Jabalpur, Bhopal, Kota}
  13. NCR - North Central Railways {Popular Stations: Allahabad, Agra, Jhansi}
  14. SECR - South East Central Railways {Popular Stations: Bilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur SEC}
  15. ECoR - East Coast Railways {Popular Stations: Khurda Road, Sambalpur, Waltair}
  16. ECR - East Central Railway {Popular Stations: Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur, Sonpur}

How to check PNR number by SMS?                   


We recommend checking for PNR on our website which is FREE through the search box above. In case you are offline, you can try sending SMS to 139 with below format. Type “PNR <10 digt PNR Number >” and send it to 139. Please note that carrier charges would apply for SMS service.

You  may change the boarding station of your booked ticket -


If you have booked e-ticket through IRCTC then you can change it to any station that falls between your source and destination station. This can be changed before 24 hours of the scheduled departure of the train. This is not applicable for i-tickets. Boarding point change is allowed only once. In case a passenger has changed the boarding point(s) he will lose all the rights to board the train from the original boarding point.

PNR Cancellation?

You may cancel the PNR booked ( online ) through online. Refund will be automatically credited to the bank account from which booking payment was made.
You can cancel the PNR of booked ticket at any counter also through online. You have Collect refund amount from the journey commencing station or from near by satellite PRS location ( Terms & conditions of IRCTC applied ).

Thank You. Take Care.


Popular posts from this blog

list of top bank defaulters in India : RBI